mobile nav
03 / 18

Four players signed for 2014 season

PUBLISHED ON: March 18, 2014

Today, Lansing United announced the signings of four players for the upcoming season. Ryan Keener, Zach Bennett, Tim Kreutz and Greg Timmer will be a part of Lansing United’s inaugural team. Keener, Bennett and Kreutz were all key contributors last season for Michigan State, helping the Spartans reach the elite eight of the NCAA tournament. Timmer is joining the Western Michigan Broncos after being named the 2013-14 junior college national player of the year.

“Our objective this season is to be competitive in every match. A lot of variables will need to go our way to get results but we will have the talent to compete.” said head coach/GM Eric Rudland. “The group we are forging has a good mix of young talent, experience and passion. Our first player announcements are a glimpse of what we are building and we are excited to continue signing quality men to represent Lansing United.”

Defender Ryan Keener helped solidify the Spartans defense last season as the green and white allowed just 17 goals in conference play in 2013, the fewest in the Big Ten. Zach Bennett is one of the top keepers in the country. Last season he was second in the country in saves while posting 13 shutouts. Forward Tim Kreutz is coming off an All-Big Ten season in which he led the Spartans with 9 goals. Timmer was named the NSCAA Junior College Division I National Player of the Year after leading Iowa Western Community College to the national championship.

These players will join midfielder Boyzzz Khumalo who signed as a player coach with Lansing back in October. Khumalo had two stints with MLS club DC United. He scored a goal against the L.A. Galaxy in 2008.

Lansing will kick off their inaugural season with a home game on Friday night May 16th at the East Lansing Soccer Complex against Westfield Select. Season tickets can be purchased for $60 and are available at

The NPSL is a national league that operates in the 4th Division of the U.S. Soccer pyramid. NPSL teams are eligible to participate in the U.S. Open Cup through their affiliation with the U.S. Soccer Federation (USSF) and the United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA). The NPSL is the fastest-growing national soccer league in North America, operating in 80+ markets across the country. Two Major League Soccer (MLS) clubs (D.C. United and the New York Red Bulls) and four North American Soccer League (NASL) clubs (Minnesota United, Carolina Railhawks, Atlanta Silverbacks, Oklahoma City FC) operate teams in the NPSL. Mitre USA recently signed a multi-year agreement to become the league’s Official Match Ball Sponsor.